Services > Network

OpenStack Neutron

Overview

Neutron is the software defined networking solution of the OpenStack project. Komponentes provides “network as a service” between interface devices (e.g. vNICs) managed by other OpenStack services (e.g. nova). Neutron is an important and central part of the OpenStack platform.

 

Why Neutron?

  • Give cloud users an API to create network topologies and configure advanced network policies in the cloud
    Example: Creating a multi-level web application topology
  • Basis for advanced network services available to users
    Examples: LBaaS, VPNaaS, Cloud Interconnect
  • Horizon GUI support for:
    • Neutron L2 and L3 network and subnet creation/deletion
    • Booting VMs on specific Neutron Networks

Our Highlights

We offer the highest availability of all our services. The Neutron components are highly available.

Extended network capabilities through extensions (DHCP, VPNaaS, etc.)

The user can build advanced network services himself

Our service supports the Horizon GUI

Details

OpenStack Networking (Neutron) is the component of the OpenStack project, which implements the network connectivity of the various services available. The user is offered the possibility to configure the underlying SDN of the noris cloud via Neutron API (https://developer.openstack.org/api-ref/networking/v2/). The noris cloud uses a distributed implementation of the Neutron service to enable best scalability. The service provides Layer 3 connectivity to the Internet.

The following Neutron options are available to the user:

  • Layer 2 Network
    The user has the possibility to configure 2 networks per tenant layer which are routed via VxLAN between the individual hypervisors.
  • Layer 3 Network
    The user has the possibility to configure per tenant layer 3 networks (subnets) into existing layer 2 networks.
  • Routers
    You can route between configured networks by creating routers according to traffic.
  • Floating IPs
    By default, configured Layer 3 networks cannot be accessed from the Internet. To make services available on the Internet, at least one IP must be assigned to a port on the compute resource from a pool of public floating IPs. Neutron takes care of the configuration of the corresponding NAT rules.
  • Security Groups
    By default, all incoming traffic to compute resources is blocked in the noris cloud. Outgoing traffic is allowed by default. To open incoming ports to the Internet, a rule must be created here in a security group that allows corresponding networks to access a specific port. Security groups realize this possibility of firewalling via IPtables on the hypervisors. Security Groups can be assigned to one or more compute resources.
  • DHCP
    For configured Layer 3 networks, DHCP pools are available to the user, which can be mapped either statically or dynamically to compute resources.

Services > Network

OpenStack Neutron

Übersicht

Neutron ist die Software Defined Networking Lösung des OpenStack-Projekts. Die Komponentes stellt „Netzwerk als Dienstleistung“ zwischen Schnittstellengeräten (z. B. vNICs) bereit, die von anderen OpenStack-Diensten (z. B. nova) verwaltet werden. Neutron ist  ein wichtiger und zentraler Teil der OpenStack-Plattform.

 

Warum Neutron?

  • Gib Cloud-Benutzern eine API, um Netzwerk-Topologien zu erstellen und erweiterte Netzwerkrichtlinien in der Cloud zu konfigurieren
    Beispiel: Erstellen einer mehrstufigen Webapplikationstopologie
  • Grundlage für fortgeschrittene Netzwerkdienste, die Nutzern zur Verfügung stehen
    Beispiele: LBaaS, VPNaaS, Cloud-Interconnect
  • Horizon GUI-Unterstützung für:
    • Neutron L2 und L3 Netzwerk und Subnetz Erstellung/Löschung
    • Booten von VMs auf bestimmten Neutron-Netzwerken

Unsere Highlights

Wir bieten höchste Verfügbarkeit all unserer Services. Die Neutron Komponenten sind hochverfügbar realisiert.

Erweiterte Netzwerkfähigkeiten durch Erweiterungen (DHCP, VPNaaS, etc.)

Der Nutzer kann selbst fortgeschrittene Netzwerkdienste aufbauen

Unser Service unterstützt die Horizon GUI

Details

OpenStack Networking (Neutron) ist die Komponente des OpenStack Projektes, welches die Netzwerkkonnektivität der verschiedenen Dienste die zur Verfügung stehen realisiert. Dem Nutzer wird per Neutron API (https://developer.openstack.org/api-ref/networking/v2/) die Möglichkeit geboten das zugrunde liegende SDN der noris cloud zu konfigurieren. Die noris cloud nutzt eine verteilte Implementierung des Neutron Services um beste Skalierbarkeit zu ermöglichen. Der Service stellt die Layer 3 Konnektivität ins Internet zur Verfügung.

Folgende Neutron Möglichkeiten stehen dem Nutzer zur Verfügung:

  • Layer 2 Netzwerk
    Der Nutzer hat die Möglichkeit pro Tenant Layer 2 Netze zu konfigurieren die per VxLAN zwischen den einzelnen Hypervisoren geroutet werden.
  • Layer 3 Netzwerk
    Der Nutzer hat die Möglichkeit pro Tenant Layer 3 Netze (Subnetze) in bestehende Layer 2 Netwerke zu konfigurieren.
  • Router
    Zwischen konfigurierten Netzen kann durch das Anlegen von Routern entsprechend Traffic geroutet werden.
  • Floating IPs
    Standardmäßig sind konfigurierte Layer 3 Netze nicht aus dem Internet erreichbar. Um Dienste im Internet verfügbar zu machen müssen aus einem Pool von öffentlichen Floating IPs mindestens eine IP einem Port an der Compute Ressource zugewiesen werden. Neutron kümmert sich hierbei um die Konfiguration der entsprechenden NAT Regeln.
  • Security Groups
    Standardmäßig ist in der noris cloud jeglicher eingehender Traffic an Compute Ressourcen geblockt. Ausgehender Traffic ist per Default erlaubt. Um eingehende Ports ins Internet zu öffnen muss hier eine Regel in einer Security Group angelegt werden, die es entsprechenden Netzen erlaubt auf einen bestimmten Port zuzugreifen. Security Groups realisieren diese Möglichkeit des Firewallings über IPtables auf den Hypervisoren. Security Groups können einer oder mehreren Compute Ressourcen zugewiesen werden.
  • DHCP
    Für konfigurierte Layer 3 Netze stehen dem Nutzer DHCP Pools zur Verfügung, die entweder statisch oder dynamisch auf Compute Ressourcen gemappt werden können.