Services > Storage

OpenStack Cinder

Overview

With Cinder, noris network provides you with block storage in the form of virtualised storage media. This block storage can be used by OpenStack compute instances like Nova and therefore provides the foundation for your OpenStack-based virtual infrastructure.

With Cinder, you can provide a catalog of block-based storage volumes with different characteristics. For example, an instance could be a special storage type that is used as very fast database storage.

Our Highlights

You can restore backups using snapshots

You can manage access yourself in a simple way

We offer you an availability of 99.9% p.a.

With our German location we offer you security through strict, German security guidelines

The volumes are dynamic and flexible and can be adapted to your needs

We offer you high performance memory in different performance classes up to SSD memory

Details

With Cinder, you can provide a catalog of block-based storage volumes with different characteristics. For example, an instance could be a special storage type that is used as very fast database storage.
Cinder is a persistent block level storage device for use with OpenStack compute instances. It manages the creation, connection and replacement of block devices to servers.

The Block Storage Service offers the customer data storage in the form of volumes. You can use the Storage Service block to create volumes for ECS instances and connect them.

Up to 10 BSS volumes of different types can be assigned to each ECS instance. With the elastic block storage service, identical copies are stored redundantly on several storage nodes in order to store the data stock with an availability according to the availability class “HA” and thus to realize highest availability and durability.

Each Availability Zone of the noris cloud has its own Cinder Storage Cluster. This ensures that the failure of one Availability Zone has no effect on other Availability Zones. Thus, the noris cloud offers the distribution and redundancies to realize your high availability architecture.

Three different block storage classes are available to the user:

Category Description Throughput [max. Mbps]* IOPS [max.]
BSS Mass Storage Storage for low access frequency based on HDD 100 200
BSS Performance Storage Universally usable tiered storagetd> 160 1 000
BSS Ultra-SSD Storage High Performance Ultra-SSD only Storage 300 10 000

* If necessary, the performance limit of the virtual machine can be exhausted before the maximum throughput is reached.

Services > Storage

OpenStack Cinder

Übersicht

Mit Cinder stellen wir von noris network Ihnen Block-Storage in Form von virtualisierten Speichermedien zur Verfügung. Dieser Blockspeicher kann durch OpenStack Compute-Instanzen wie Nova verwendet werden und bietet daher die Grundlage Ihrer auf OpenStack basierenden, virtuellen Infrastruktur.

Mit Cinder können Sie einen Katalog an Block-basierten Storage-Volumes mit verschiedenen Charakteristiken zur Verfügung stellen. Eine Instanz könnte zum Beispiel ein spezieller Speicher-Typ sein, den man als sehr schnelles Datenbank-Storage einsetzt.

Unsere Highlights

Sie haben die Möglichkeit, Backups über Snapshots wiederherzustellen

Sie können die Zugriffsverwaltung auf einfachem Weg selbst übernehmen

Wir bieten Ihnen eine Verfügbarkeit des Services von 99,9 % p.a.

Mit unserem deutschen Standort bieten wir Ihnen Sicherheit durch strenge, deutsche Sicherheitsrichtlinien

Die Volumes sind dynamisch und flexibel an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpasspar

Wir bieten Ihnen Hochleistungsspeicher in verschiedenen Leistungsklassen bis hin zu SSD Speicher

Details

Cinder ist ein persistentes Block Level Storage Device für die Verwendung mit OpenStack Compute-Instanzen. Es verwaltet die Erstellung, Anbindung und Ablösung von Blockgeräten an Server.

Der Block Storage Service bietet dem Kunden die Datenspeicherung in Form von Volumes. Sie können den Block Storage Service verwenden um Volumes für Instanzen des ECS zu erstellen und diese zu verbinden.

Bis zu 10 BSS Volumes verschiedener Typen können jeder ECS Instanz zugewiesen werden. Mit dem elastischen Block Storage Service, werden identische Kopien auf mehrere Speicherknoten redundant gespeichert, um den Datenbestand mit einer Verfügbarkeit nach der Verfügbarkeitsklasse „HA“ abzulegen und so höchste Verfügbarkeit und Dauerhaftigkeit zu realisieren.

Jede Availability Zone der noris cloud verfügt über ein eigenes Cinder Storage Cluster. Damit ist es gewährleistet, dass der Ausfall einer Availability Zone keinerlei Auswirkungen auf andere Availability Zonen hat. Somit bietet die noris cloud die Verteilung und die Redundanzen um Ihre Hochverfügbarkeitsarchitektur zu realisieren.

Drei verschiedene Block-Storage-Klassen stehen dem Nutzer zur Auswahl:

Klasse Beschreibung Throughput [max. MiB/s]* IOPS [max.]
BSS-Mass-Storage Storage für niedrige Zugriffsfrequenz basierend auf HDD 100 200
BSS-Performance-Storage Universell nutzbares Tiered Storage 160 1 000
BSS-Ultra-SSD-Storage High Performance Ultra-SSD only Storage 300 10 000

* Ggfs. kann die Leistungsgrenze der virtuellen Maschine vor dem Erreichen des maximalen Throughputs ausgeschöpft sein.