Services > Storage

OpenStack Glance

Overview

With OpenStack Glance (Image Service), noris cloud offers a service that provides virtual machine images to OpenStack users. These images can be instantiated by Nova to executable virtual machines. By using Ceph as the storage backend, the noris cloud enables Copy-On-Write instantiation, which speeds up the provisioning of Nova instances. In addition to the images, Glance can store metadata, such as the operating system or kernel version used. Access to these metadata and images takes place via a REST API.

Our highlights

Easy diagnosis and correction of errors

A community-driven API

Details

The OpenStack Image Service Glance from noris network provides pre-configured images and operating systems for use with the elastic compute service Nova. The service offers the possibility to upload and use customer images. Each instance must be assigned an image by the customer.

Glance includes the following main components:

  • Glance API: Accepts Image API calls for image discovery, retrieval and storage
  • Glance Registry: Stores, processes and retrieves metadata for images
  • Glance Database: Saves image metadata

The following public images are provided in the version supported by noris network, whereby noris makes every effort to provide a current version. The images provided by noris are regularly built automatically and thus always offer the latest status of the corresponding distribution. Our contribution to your safety.

Public images:

  1.  Community Linux derivatives based on:
    • openSUSE
    • Debian
    • CentOS
    • Ubuntu
  2.  Commercial Linux distributions
    • SUSE Enterprise Linux
    • Redhat Enterprise Linux
  3. Microsoft Windows Server

Private images:
Customers can upload their own “private images” for selection in the management service or create them on the basis of an elastic cloud server.

Services > Storage

OpenStack Glance

Übersicht

Mit OpenStack Glance (Image Service) bietet die noris cloud einen Dienst, der Ihnen als OpenStack-Nutzer Images von virtuellen Maschinen bereitstellt. Diese Images können von Nova zu lauffähigen virtuellen Maschinen instanziiert werden. Durch die Verwendung von Ceph als Storage Backend ermöglicht die noris cloud eine Copy-On-Write Instanziierung, was die Bereitstellung von Nova-Instanzen beschleunigt. Neben den Images kann Glance Metadaten, wie das genutzte Betriebssystem oder die Kernelversion, speichern. Der Zugriff auf diese Metadaten  und Images findet dabei über eine REST-API statt.

Unsere Highlights

Einfache Diagnose und Korrektur von Fehlern

Eine Community-getriebene API

Details

Der OpenStack Image Service Glance von noris network liefert vorkonfigurierte Images und Betriebssysteme für die Verwendung mit dem Elastic Compute Service Nova. Der Service bietet die Möglichkeit, kundeneigene Images hochzuladen und zu verwenden. Dabei  muss jeder Instanz ein Image durch den Kunden zugeordnet werden.

Glance umfasst folgende Hauptkomponenten:

  • Glance-API: Akzeptiert Image-API-Aufrufe für die Image-Findung, Abruf und Speicherung
  • Glance-Registry: Speichert, verarbeitet und ruft Metadaten für Images ab
  • Glance-Database: Speichert Image-Metadaten

Die folgenden öffentlichen Images werden in der von noris network unterstützten Version zur Verfügung gestellt, wobei noris bemüht ist, jeweils eine aktuelle Version bereitzustellen. Die von noris bereitgestellten Images werden regelmäßig automatisch gebaut und bieten damit immer den aktuellsten Stand der entsprechenden Distribution. Unser Beitrag zu Ihrer Sicherheit.

Öffentliche Images:

  1. Community Linux-Derivate auf Basis von:
    • openSUSE
    • Debian
    • CentOS
    • Ubuntu
  2. Kommerzielle Linux Distributionen
    • SUSE Enterprise Linux
    • Redhat Enterprise Linux
  3. Microsoft Windows Server

Private Images:
Der Kunde hat die Möglichkeit, seine eigenen sogenannten „Private Images“ zur Auswahl im Management Service hochzuladen oder sie auf der Grundlage eines Elastic-Cloud-Servers zu erstellen.